Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Playing in the puddle

This morning sleet and snow were forecast but we had nothing like that, we did not even have rain. It was chilly on my dog walk, and here Xena has found a very large puddle to wander into.

I spend some time this morning chasing up refunds - with Christmas shopping there were a few items to be returned for different sizes/colours - most online retailers don't do exchanges anymore, you have to return the item and then buy another one in the correct size/colour. I had another unsatisfactory call with John Lewis returns department, as of the four items returned in one bag they only refunded three items, No idea why the last item was not refunded and they said they did not know either - no apology, just very poor customer service and I have waited a month now for the refund. So I sent off an email complaining about this, I don't think it will have any effect but I felt better for having my little rant.

I stripped the beds and washed and ironed the bedding after the boys' visit home on the weekend, so it has been a day of domestic chores. The TV system went on the blink again last night but we now have an annual contract with someone who comes within 24 hours to fix it at no cost of an appointment, so he came this afternoon and it was all sorted in half an hour.

Camera Club tonight is again on zoom which is great as I don't feel like going out on such a cold night - its an interclub competition which is always interesting hearing the judge's comments on the images.

I am really enjoying my book Demon Copperhead by Barbara Kingsolver, it's a retelling of the story of David Copperfield set in modern day America during the opioid crisis. As I know the book David Copperfield very well I am loving the clever way the author has linked characters and plot lines between the books. 

After mentioning yesterday our family debate on the weekend, I have just seen the breaking news that the UK government is to block the Scottish gender bill,  the first time they have ever used a Section 35 order to stop the bill from becoming law.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.