L'étoile filante

Around this time every year we receive a long missive from the grandparents of the children for whom I was an au pair in 1982. They were very kind to me when I worked for their eldest daughter and son-in-law, especially over the summer of that year, which I spent at their house in the country  (yes, OK, I admit it was a château) while the parents of my charges worked in Paris.

'My' baby twins were the first grandchildren of this couple. Over the years they have acquired another 13 grandchildren, and 16 great-grandchildren. Monsieur, who is the one who writes the letter, is very elderly now and we do wonder each January whether or not we will hear from him. He turns 92 in 2022. Happily this letter dropped on to the mat today.

It's been a good day. Inevitably I had some work to do on a Monday when I should be free. However, much of this was related to my Lorna Lloyd podcast project, so it was actually quite good fun. I also fitted in some exercise, and bought a bargain on Facebook Marketplace (to be blipped anon). In addition, Mr hazelh was delighted when his new Mac laptop arrived.

Exercise today: sit-ups, weights and stretches; 45 minutes on the exercise bike; walking (7537 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.