Post-test doze

Usually Richard and I look after Frieda together on our regular Tuesdays. But he's not due home from Northern Ireland till late tonight.
I thought I was well-organised for the day ahead when I picked Frieda up at 8.30. Then Jack threw me a curve ball by asking if I could take her to get a PCR test. She's feeling fine but has a runny nose and an occasional cough. The nursery staff are - understandably - very watchful about symptoms that could be Covid. This can mean insisting that a toddler with a runny nose gets sent home. Highly stressful for the working parent. So, having got a negative lateral flow result, a PCR test was the belt and braces option. I was a bit wary about my chances of getting it all done without glitches.
I needn't have been anxious about any of it. There were online booking slots available at the centre in our neighbourhood. The hardest thing was persuading Frieda to leave the house. Her delaying tactics are highly developed :-). But once out, F was happy to get in the pushchair and it was an easy walk to the very quiet test centre. To my amazement, Frieda tolerated the nose swab without batting an eyelid. Then she dozed off on the way home. I heaved a large sigh of relief.
For the rest of the day, we settled back into the usual relaxed routine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.