Winter Grey

Another dismal
day without colour or some
sunshine to warm us

~ carliewired

If there was a spectacular sunrise this morning, I missed it entirely. I rolled out of bed at 8:20 quite surprised at the time. It was -2 C and overcast. 

I had to make a stop at the office before I was free to wander with my camera. I pulled into our parking area to discover five deer in the yard. There were two bucks and three does. One buck was missing an antler on his left side. It was broken off at the skull. The deer were having the same problem as I do in the driveway, trying not to slip on the ice. I only got a photo of the straggler. 

I was off to Riverside Park to see what was on the Thompson River. I got a shot of the railway bridge and my mountains. There were ducks and swans in attendance, but no Canada geese at all. The ice shelf along the shoreline has shrunk back considerably since I was last there. The waterfowl seem to like that one spot where they gather. There is lots of open water for them now. 

I always admire the trumpeter swans when I see them float along in the river. They look so elegant and graceful then. When I see them standing on the ice they look quite different with their big black feet. Then they look like ballerinas in army boots!

I'm back home for the day. No big plans but a nap would be welcome. 

We're supposed to have a high of 1 C and a mainly cloudy day. There's a chance of snow flurries or rain showers this evening. I hope we miss that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.