Ducks on Ice

Another lovely
sunny day is unfolding.
It is a bonus!

~ carliewired

I had a 9:30 appointment this morning before I could get out with my camera. I chose McArthur Island as my go to. 

It was 3 C and clearing when I arrived on the park's north side. I quickly discovered that the walkways held some treachery as the snow mush has turned to ice again overnight. I tippy-toed around oh so carefully and did not venture far. 

I parked by the foot bridge and walked onto it. I got a view of the slough, still frozen over, then walked across to the point where I can look back over the slough, the Butterfly Garden and and see my mountains in the east. 

There is a small circle of open water under the foot bridge. It is not much bigger than a kiddie's wading pool, but the ducks are making the most of it. They swim in circles making their ducky noises. 

There are ducks about in the walkways, the parking areas and on the perimeter of the fields. They are settled onto the ice. I suspect they know where best to wait. I'm sure people throw them food. 

I picked up a belated drive-thru breakfast and headed for home. It will be another at-home day for me. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a forecast high of 3 C. I will enjoy it while it lasts. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.