Relief

Today's main event was lunch with my cousin and his wife. 

It was fun. These things usually are. Joseph Pearce did very well out of us. I have just about sobered up (20:30). Pearce's is described as "shabby chic... with a Swedish twist". 

When I was a boy it was just shabby. But it was cheap and the beer was good, and if you were a couple of weeks months short of 18, well... 

We also had a brief dive into the Cafe Royal because we got thirsty while walking up the hill after lunch. 

The city is very quiet, and so is the hotel. That suits me fine, but is not so good looking at the bigger picture. Perhaps it is partly the mid-January, midweek thing as well as the pandemic. I have had (almost) no concerns today about Covidiots, and the places I have been inside have been 100% on the ball with the protections. 

The Blip is just me amusing myself while waiting for the others, and a reminder of how rare it is for me to drink anything at lunchtime. 

The Extra is the view from my room about dawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.