A night out

Earlier this month Jon surprised me with tickets to see The Sound of Music at the Theatre Royal in Norwich. He had written 'Beverley's birthday surprise' on the family calender, so it was a very welcome one, as the film is one of my favourites. Performer by the Norfolk and Norwich Operatic Sociery, it was a very professional production. We both loved it, and the audience was very appreciative - I guess many had friends and elatives performing. In all a great night, although we did have to wear our masks.

I'm writing this as Jon drives us home. So back to my day. A long lie in, then a nice long shower before tackling the jobs. The biggest one - the shower tiles - just a disgrace. I have so many different scrubbing brushes, cloths and potions that are supposed to remove limescale/mould/stains in the grout. But in the past nothing really works and noone else ever does it, even though 4 people use the shower in our house daily! I used my electric toothbrush in a desperate attempt to make a difference, until the power had run out. Cleaning really affects my tennis elbow. That was the morning. I also cleaned the stairs and lounge, then made some scones. They didn't rise. Not sure what I do wrong when it comes to baking!!

Moved some furniture about in the conservatory. Can't find a buyer for my old multiyork sofa, so it will have to go to charity. Its too solid for the dump. All it needs is a new cover. If anyone knows of someone starting out, please get I'm touch. I'd rather it went to someone.

We went out at 4, and dropped into Go Outdoors in Norwich on our way. I bought a sleeping bag with my birthday money. A really nice warm one. Plus an electric hook up lead for a tent which was very cheap. Then we parked at St Andrews and walked through the city, getting something cheap to eat and a pint each at Wetherspoons. It was really nice to be out with Jon in a busy, noisy atmosphere. It felt like pre covid days. Then to the theatre for a great evening.

In all, a good day off. I could get used to days like this.

P.s. photo is St Peter Mancroft, opposite The Forum as we came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.