New blooms

Both unexpected, but as I was in the garden this afternoon, just pottering about, mainly thinking how much there was to do, but not fancying any of the jobs in this cold weather, I spotted this water hawthorn flower, and near it, a bud trying to open on my lovely rose Harlow Carr. The pond needs to be cleared out, but I know newts live in it, and don't know if they will be in there now, at the bottom hibernating, or whether they come out. I don't want to upset them but I would like to get the sludge out!

My morning was shopping and singing. My afternoon was putting away the shopping, and moving things about but not tidying! I filled the brown bin outside with garden waste. It was very cold as I tried to clear leaves from the bank by the stream.

This evening I've been looking at more family history stuff. I have a couple of files of dad's, which has loads of print outs of various census info. Dad printed everything out. Then shuffled it, and then printed it again! It's very similar to my own way of filing and gathering info. I wondered where I got it from! I found an email where he had said 'my daughter is the expert in genealogy, but has passed it all over to me now she has a family'!! I recognised some stuff and started to wonder why we do this. I decided that I just like finding information and filling in forms!! I did my dna test and that should be coming back in February. It will be interesting to see how mine compares to Manda's.

Jon and I have gone round in circles about holidays again. We've planned buying a cheap old caravan, then changed to wanting a newer expensive one, then not buying one at all as we don't really have the money, so planned camping with the tent (but I will have to buy a comfortable bed, as I'm not sleeping on the floor), to eventually saying we will book a week off in June and maybe stay at home or see what happens. Home isn't so bad when it isn't work too.

Must head to bed now. My blips are getting later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.