The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Day 7 of self isolation

Feels like day 568. I am still testing faintly positive. Mostly I am bored, desperate to go out, anywhere. (Wet shopping centre in a South London suburb in the 1980s? No problem! Five me time machine and I'll go there!) Indie the cat has caught my restless mood and is trying to climb anything, anywhere. She has not been allowed to go out yet, because we can't chase her if she runs off. We are not allowed out, either. Tomorrow I will test negative.

I wrote the following to a friend, who gave me the hot chocolate bomb a few days ago:

12.45 pm. Day 568 of self-isolation. I make hot chocolate with the bomb. A police helicopter circles. Sirens wail up the golden valley.

1.05 pm The helicopter is returning. I think it's an Air Ambulance. The chocolate bomb tasted good, though I think it should be drunk beside a roaring fire in an old house, with plinky-plonk music playing in the background.

Later, we discussed the burning issues of the day, which for her were, why do some people grow more Conservative (big C) in their old age?

This led to, for me, what is the value of Catholic Social Teaching?

She is 14 years older than me. We went to separate Catholic schools but took away different things. It's possible that some of the teachings I am attributing to my Catholic education, 1969 to 1981, actually belong to my current Catholic special school, where I've worked from 2012 - to date.

Another of my nursery colleagues has now tested positive for Coronavirus. I hope that the four who had Delta last October won't catch Omicron.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.