SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Chapter 6 - Struck Oil

Worked today - trying to catch up on a few things since I started my new role.  I'd planned to be on leave from today - but that starts now instead - I will take a day off later.  Went to "The Mall" to buy a card and wrapping paper for my beloved's birthday tomorrow.  Actual got my stuff together this year and bought her two presents some time ago.  She also asked for something specific this year - so three presents it is.

I hate going to "The Mall" but it's actual pretty good.  Someone once told me that it's the only open air shopping centre in Australia.  Not sure that's true but it's pretty unusual as it does not have a grid pattern and does have some significant internal spaces (avenues and eating places) that are open air and even get rained on sometimes!  There are also lots of places to sit down (and read a book even) that are private or shared and they use a variety of different furniture types.

I've watched it grow since the 1960s (I've lived around here on and off all my life) and I still get lost sometimes (to be fair they add bits on and rearrange bits every decade or so so it's not surprising I get lost).

The oddest thing though - despite the basic layout not being remotely like it was in the 1960s, there is one tiny alley that has always been there that has infrequently used toilets.... handy to know :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.