It is not all so black and white

I have spent yet another day working through my six suitcases of dusty old photos and negatives.. slowly gathering ancient information about my relations past.  To be honest I am finding it wearisome.. my dreams are littered with these people and the places.. answers to my questions.. who are they? and where are they a constant dream companion.  I feel like the more I throw away the more they come into my dreams.. should I be doing something better with their memories?  I am trying to rationalise the muddle.. so, so many negatives.. all muddled together. Nothing dated, very few named and all so tiny and out of good condition as to be rendered worthless.. 
or are they.. I just scanned through ebay and found empty Kodak envelopes from early 1900s ((like mine)) actually sell for money.. bundles of ancient photos sell for money especially if they involve cars.  Do I want to sell them?  I know I don't need to keep them.. the next generation would love to see some of them but need more order... names and faces with family trees perhaps. I am exhausted by it but determined to crack the final suitcase tomorrow.. then with what is left I need to make some sense of it all.  I am getting there.
Today I share my colourful daffodils the first bought flowers of the year alongside a beach party from around 1900.  It is possible my great grandmother on the right... it is rather a guess.  What amazing outfits for a beach trip.. it doesn't look warm!!! I wonder where they were, what colour were their outfits, is this Scotland? I m glad I don't have to wear a hat or a fur coat on the beach these days!
Onwards.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.