WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Deconstructed

After binning yesterday's effort due to an avocado with the consistency of a cannonball, I tried again today: deconstructed tarta de aguacate (because we don't have a tart tin). It worked OK, even if the ratio of toasted biscuit crumbs to mousse was a bit excessive.

It was another cool, grey day. Mystère sat grimly on the terrace, all his paws neatly folded in, occasionally shooting me an accusing glance: "This isn't what I signed up for!" I finished Alan Garner's latest novel Treacle Walker, a compelling very short novel that addresses all the usual Garner themes, including folklore, archaeology, and quantum physics.

As a result of this I also discovered the podcast Backlisted, which seems like it was made for me (and probably PaulaJ as well): it's devoted to older books, as the title implies. They made an exception to this rule and did an episode about Treacle Walker when it was published, based on a panel discussion between an archaeologist, a literary critic, and a physicist, all friends of the author. It was fascinating, and scrolling through other episodes I gave cries of recognition on seeing many old favourites. Lots of listening pleasure in store for any more cold days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.