Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hoppers

Most non-aquatic birds either hop or stride (American robins do both). In general, small songbirds hop except for some of the ground nesting species who stride. Most Corvids stride (like crows and ravens) except jays which hop. Then there are hummingbirds who do neither because their legs aren’t long enough. But I digress.

Todays image shows the footprints of a hopper, probably a junco or sparrow, in a light dusting of snow. I like seeing tracks (animal or avian) in fresh snow.

I am, however, tired of the extreme cold. And the ice. I have fallen twice today. Once was just a quick tumble in the snow when I was walking Jax. The second (also when walking the boy) on a patch of black ice on our driveway. I went down hard on that one and can already feel my neck and back getting stiff. Some heat, stretches and ibuprofen should do the trick. I plan to take him for one more walk later but will see how I feel.

Tomorrow will finally get above freezing so I am hoping to meet up with my birder friends for a walk - may bring Jax along too. He’s actually very good at spotting birds.

I’m thinking something dark with a little spice today…

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.