Marionb

By Marionb

Here We Go Again...

More books! They just keep showing up at my door and there is nowhere to put them! My shelves are full, the coffee table is overflowing, and every available surface has been taken over by them...and they just keep coming...I keep finding Amazon and Book Depository packages on my doorstep..My library holds that have been on hold for months prefer to come all at once.. like today..three of them...to add to the one that came a couple days ago...There is a limit to how much one can read in a day...so these books just keep piling up.

I would like to thank a fellow blipper who apparently also has piles of books, Honeycombebeach, for discovering that there is actually a word for this!  "Tsundoku". How neat is that? I like it. Tsundoku..it rolls off the tongue quite nicely...

Apparently it is a Japanese term and it means "the art of acquiring books and letting them pile up without reading them". So...  I am not alone in this? There are others who do the same? There must be, because if it were not a common thing, there would not be a name for it!  

We could form a club - we who are masters of the art of tsundoku...and who are willing to admit it! We could exchange books we have not read...we could discuss books we would like to read one day...we could share clever ways to store or display books until we are ready to read them. We could go on field trips to book stores...go to author talks and book promotions... It would be just like a regular book club except there would be no pressure to actually read a book for the meeting! 

I think I will suggest this at our next book club meeting in February... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.