An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Another year older...

but not any wiser :-))

David woke me with my birthday cards (I got so many that made me laugh out loud! :-) and a lovely e-card from Blip pal P in America.  Thank you P) and breakfast in bed.  Rice Crispies.  I'm a classy burd :D  He also gave me a gift bag that contained a lovely pendant necklace and a little miniature of Rock Rose gin.  Apparently my main pressie has still to arrive.  I scolded him (but only a little :-) as our week away in December was meant to be our birthday and Christmas pressie.

No time to lounge about as pal Peter was coming to visit for the weekend   as part of his birthday celebration postponed from earlier in the month, due to our brush with covid.  

My step dad John always pops up on my birthday too so after lunch I set about making some scones.  John and Norma arrived just as they were about to go in the oven.  Perfect timing as it meant they enjoyed them warm.

Not that I have a reputation as a gin lover at all, but the brought me two bottles of gin.  A sloe gin and a liqueur gin.  Yum.   We were able to finally give them their Christmas pressies and they got to spend some time with Alan who was delighted to see them.

They headed off home and a short time later Peter arrived.  So great to see him.  Last time he was here was July last year, although we did meet up at the Botanic gardens in Edinburgh in September, but both seemed a long time ago.

Tea and scone for him then we exchanged birthday gifts.  Peter is one of the most difficult people to buy for (easy peasy when his Amazon wish list has items on it, not so easy when it doesn't! :-)  He got me a bottle of Rock Rose Gin and a beautiful book - The Story of Scottish Art by Lachlan Goudie.  I can't wait to get stuck into that.  Wish a glass of gin in hand of course ;-))

Dinner was homemade ham and lentil soup, then in a nod to Robert Burns' birthday David made haggis, tatties and needs, followed by Cranachan.

A lovely evening spent chatting and laughing to the wee small hours.

A rather lovely 21-with-34-years-experience birthday indeed :D 

PS I got a lovely birthday smile and kiss from Alan, as well as a beautiful silver necklace.  I am a very lucky mum :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.