WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

On the beach

Just a blip of a small, sandy beach we haven't been to before. Just in case you get the wrong impression, see the extra for the view in the other direction. It was deserted except for four people having picnics under the palm trees. It looks perfect for that.

I managed to track down my former yoga teacher Amaya via a flyer in a shop window. So today I was up early and out to go to her class. She used to teach in a very tiny poorly ventilated room in the centre of Almuñecar. But this class is in a large room in La Herradura with big windows that can be left open because there is no traffic noise apart from the odd passing moped.

It was lovely to get back to yoga after almost two years. Although every posture made me go ouch, with the exception of corpse pose (lying on the floor without moving). Amaya kept giving me bricks and blankets to prop various bits of me up. Still, it will get better I'm sure.

When S was walking on Sunday, he got chatting to someone who recommended a restaurant we haven't tried, on a beach the other side of town . So he booked us a table and once I'd recovered from yoga off we went. It's an upmarket beach bar, with a huge and lovely terrace. Although S's informant had described it as "fusion", most of the food was quite traditional. We shared a tuna tataki salad which was a lot of leaves and four quite small pieces of tuna, and then had an excellent and perfectly cooked dorada a la sal (bream baked in salt). Part of the pleasure of this is watching the waiter carefully breaking the crust and lifting the fillets from the bone. It was good but certainly hasn't knocked the Balcon off the top of the list of restaurants in Almuñecar.

Aside: As we ate, for some reason it occurred to me that when I was in my early 20s, I assumed I'd never make it to retirement because I'd have been vaporised in a nuclear war. And now look at us.

After lunch we had a little stroll on the beach (blip). Definitely worth another visit in warmer weather, with a picnic. Back home I wasn't fit for much except sprawling and browsing. I only seem to be able to manage two activities a day these days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.