WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Morning has broken

Pretty much the same view as this, but taken at 7:30 am. A rain check was taken for the weekly table tennis at 11 a.m., but we convened at S and T's at 2 p.m., at which point the weather was much better. T and I were quite comfortable sitting on the terrace chatting (no hot water bottles or even coats required) while S and S exerted themselves around the table. My S managed to win a game! One out of five, but it's a start. It's good to get out of the house and talk to other people.

S has been working on setting up a new Wordpress website for his book today. There was a lot of head-scratching as things didn't work quite as we expected. As we were having our nightly apero round the fire, I thought back .... it's three years since we retired completely, and I have forgotten so much. When I did web development I used to love learning new stuff. As an independent contractor you don't have anyone to ask about what you don't know, you just have to figure it out for yourself. My motto, of which I had to frequently remind myself, was "Avant d'être simple, tout est difficile" ("Everything's difficult before it's easy"). The first time you face a new, challenging task it seems impossible. But at some point you succeed. And then it's easy! Pat yourself on the back. But now I am quite glad I don't have to constantly challenge my brain to grasp new concepts. 

Reminder to S: "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." Another of my software mantras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.