Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 7

Last year I nearly forgot to include the ubiquitous Mourning Dove in my visual yard bird record; not going to forget this year!  I had six of them hanging around today, jostling for position at the feeders and holding their own against even the grackles.  This was my pick because it perfectly captures the conditions - cold, blustery and snowing.  

We lucked out and only got about 4 inches, thankfully.  Further east and south of us got the brunt of the storm with a lot more snow and higher winds.    Still, it was unpleasant being outside so we've been staying close to home today.  No walks for Jax - it's just too cold.  We'll make it up tomorrow.  Speaking of Jax, he's been remarkably chill today other than doing a little counter-surfing when my back was turned which netted him a bag of cat treats.  He's a crafty one.

I'm having Zoom cocktails with my besties tonight as a pre-birthday celebration.  They'll all be here next weekend (weather permitting) so this is a nice lead-up to an in-person celebration.  I've made a batch of chili in the pressure cooker and Hubs is in charge of making some cornbread muffins.  After that, we'll curl up with the pup and the cats and watch a little TV - very exciting life we lead.

I finished off the last of the bourbon cask dark today - a little extra since it's almost my birthday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.