Marionb

By Marionb

You Gotta Love A Duck...

They are a hoot...they make me laugh...I love how they waddle along the shore, and how they go butt end up, tail to the sky, to reach for food under the water. I like how they swim single file in rows... behind a leader, gliding along, so calm up top, but with busy feet below... I marvel at them surfing the waves, riding the ice floes or sleeping in the snow. And I love to see them flying across the setting sun...They never fail to entertain me.

I didn't really feel like going out today but as it had warmed up to a balmy minus 6C, how could I miss that? I did a quick jaunt down to the harbour and, as usual, all those adorable ducks were there, lounging in their favourite spot right in front of the parking lot, waiting to welcome visitors  - especially those bearing food. It is hilarious to watch them when they see, or think they see, a food source approaching. They rush en masse toward the person holding the seed bag. A great quacking fills the air, and out of nowhere, more and more ducks fly in..word gets around fast... There is great flurry of activity until the food runs out and the next prospective feeder comes along..and they do..regularly. It is a favourite pastime to bring your kids or grandkids down to feed the ducks...that's because ducks rule..and you can't help but love them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.