Self-Imposed..

..Homework....

I like to record my travel experiences in a print journal and also later create a photo book..but I also like to keep a sketchbook too  ..which keeps me very busy in the evenings - sorting and editing the day's photos, writing what I did and saw, and in the past..picking a photo of the day and sketching it!  Yikes! Way too much work.

I still want to have a sketch book souvenir, but, I want to simplify the process. I want to learn to sketch quickly and loosely on-site and later, put on a bit of watercolour ..a quick wash perhaps...just enough detail and colour to capture a moment that will be good enough for me to recognize what and where it was later..

I figured that a pen and ink/watercolour course would help me do that...I need to review and practise the basics of drawing and then work at getting an image down relatively quickly...and I need a kick in the butt to get me doing it; hence a course - hopefully with pressure to do some homework! 

Well the first class was a bit of a fiasco - not the teachers fault..he didn't even know he had a class to teach that night - no-one told him! So, he arrived very late and quite unprepared but covered some basic things, but alas, we didn't have much time to actually put pen to paper..and there was no homework assignment...

So..I made up my own assignment. I had already drawn up a grid to transfer one of my photo images onto water-colour paper lest I got the urge to paint it someday.....so.. a quick change of plan - Draw that image onto the grid and then do it in pen and ink instead... just for practice. Later, as the course progresses, work on loosening up...

So this is as far as I got......A little hint  of Arlington Row, Bibury.. in the Cotswolds...a bit more ink needed and then a touch of colour...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.