Lost at Sea?

Another book blip..no, it was not the most exciting part of my day - and would not necessarily have been my first choice for a blip, but I had no other photo.

I did enjoy The Black Swan of Paris - yet another novel about the resistance movement in France..but I was happy to finish it off in order to start my new book Fresh Water For Flowers...It sounds intriguing...My friend Mary recommended it to me on a FaceTime visit on Monday. My library did not have it in book form so I fell back on Amazon to deliver...and they did - Tuesday morning! Wow..what good service...

My exciting adventure of the day, however was not about books, it was about photography. After careful thought, I decided to upgrade my trusty little Canon pocket camera..It had served me well for years and then when the iPhone emerged, it acted as a contributing partner to the phone as it was able to zoom better and also do macros as well. But, it was getting old and I know that a lot has improved since I purchased it. It was not easy though, to find an upgrade that would still fall within my needs...

Gone are my SLR, interchangeable lenses days. I gave all that equipment away a long time ago. I just wasn't using it anymore. With retirement and more traveling, my biggest use of a camera had become taking vacation shots and with arthritis and spinal issues, I could no longer lug all that around with me as I walked around cities and photogenic villages...I needed a camera that would fit into a pocket. I could have nothing heavy hanging around my neck, or in my daypack..

Well, moving up from my little pocket Power Shot soon led into the wonderful world of cameras I could no longer lug around!  Drat!  But I did settle on another Canon... a little bit bigger, and a little less able to stick in a pocket, but  at least smaller than the next level up. So..I am not elated....I feel that I have "settled", but I am sure the new addition will show me I made a good choice...if only I could have it and try it out....

But NO...of course, it is not available at the moment! t is one of many on back order, with no indication of when any of them will arrive. It is probably on a freighter stranded somewhere out at sea; hence..no photo of my new camera for today's blip....

As I was standing there paying my deposit, out of nowhere there arose much excitement! Hoots and hollers. The store's Christmas order of tripods that were to be on their shelves for the Christmas season, had just arrived! On January 31! The shipment had been stranded on a freighter in the middle of the Atlantic...so..... I do not jest about where my camera might be ...

Seems lots of things are "not available" these days... not produced yet? in transit? stranded in a port? lost at sea? There are long waiting lists for things like cars and dishwashers... and cameras... and no delivery date even promised! What's with that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.