The second half of life..

By twigs

Sailing away

Each time I cross the Cook Strait on the ferry this song jingles around in my subconscious........a little drop of nostalgia for Kiwis old enough to remember.  I'd been in New Zealand about 2 years when this was released and even now, I'm taken back to the deep feelings of belonging that it brought me.  How many of these singers can you recognise?  I can't name too many but Billy T, Precious McKenzie and Annie Crummer stand out for me.  Add names of those you recognise below......

So.....today was a very uneventful, beautifully calm crossing of the Cook Strait.  Instead of a picture of blue sky, blue water and a level horizon I thought this picture of a chap on the deck below me was more interesting.  More interesting for me was a slightly nervous feeling I had about being amongst lots of people I didn't know, any of whom could be infectious.  95% of people on the ferry were wearing masks which was good and I found myself subconsciously steering a wide berth around people and having distanced conversations.  I don't feel at all inclined to take any risks (no surprises there!) so this holiday is very likely to be even less social than usual, particularly up here in the North Island.

Found out this evening that Rafa won the AO.  Aaargghh!  I sat up watching it until about 12.30 when for all money it looked to be heading for a Medvedev win.  Oh my goodness - I need to watch the whole match now - all five-plus hours of it!

In COVID news, there were 91 community cases reported today and 10 people are in hospital.  Omicron is now officially the dominant strain in NZ so Omicron numbers are no longer being reported separately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.