The Fisher King

The holy grail of birding for some, and I was happy today to be lead to the sacred spot by Sheol. I've used two images, from a couple of hundred shots, to highlight how amazing and changeable the light was. I drover out of the village under grey skies, and returned to the same, but we were (Bran the) blessed with sunshine for a time.

The main shows the male kingfisher alert and watching for signs of approaching comestibles, against a golden fall of sunlit willow. The extras, on the other hand, shows the drabness of full cloud, as well as how odd the bird looks flying directly towards you! Sadly, my aperture was insufficient to capture the full length of the bird.

I'm pleased with the lens, on its first proper outing in decent light. I'm pleased too that I took a monopole with me! Next time, diving...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.