Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Home country pavillions

I awoke early this morning, well before my alarm, so thought it best to get ready and drive G to school. I'm glad I took my laptop with me as I was able to get some important docs sent off. When I picked G up two hours later, she suggested we go to EXPO 2020 as she was free up to 4 PM. Unfortunately, we didn't have the EXPO passport on us, so we will have to revisit the pavilions to get our stamps.

We had a very focused trip today, finally visiting the Pakistan and UK Pavilions. They are on the same street (Sunset Avenue) as is Baden Wurttemberg (the state in Germany which is its industrial heartland), and Kenya, which was across the road. There were many other pavilions we could have visited but having spent over an hour in Pakistan (it is done very well and there is lots to see), we both agreed that we need to come back again - soon. It was easy enough to drive up, park and be bussed in.

Home before 3:30, and G gave her lesson and then just chilled the rest of the evening. I attended Life Group on Zoom and it felt really great to have them pray for me!

PS. I should explain my main picture - the UK Pavilion is all about AI. Every person who visits has to pick one English word (no names or swear words!!) and an algorithm first throws up a two-line poem with the word you chose, and then a more complex algorithm attempts to place the word into poetry. The rest of it was forgettable. They could do with getting some tips from PK!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.