Groundhog Day

The groundhog may be
able to predict the end
of winter - we'll see! 

~ carliewired

It was - 11 C when I left the house at 9 AM. We have taken a step back into winter overnight. There is some snow in the forecast for us today. 
Across Canada, groundhogs (and one lobster) have made their predictions concerning the end of winter. According to folklore, should the groundhog see his shadow today, it means 6 more weeks of winter. 
Here is the summary of predictions across Canada - https://www.theweathernetwork.com/ca/news/article/groundhog-day-2022-results

As for my jaunt with my camera this morning, it was very short. I made a quick stop for my drive thru breakfast and some groceries. Then I was on to Vantage Point near the airport for an even quicker stop with my camera. 

We have a day with high overcast cloud. It is cold, grey and unpleasant. I got my shot of my mountains to the east. I noted that the float plane dock is almost fully emerged from the ice and snow load it had. The river has lots of ice flowing in the open channel. It makes crinkly, scratchy noises as it brushes against the pilings. I saw no one walking their dog this morning along the Rivers Trail. There was a biting wind flowing along with the river. My fingers were freezing within minutes and I got back into my truck as quick as possible. As I headed home, snowflakes were beginning to float down. 

I'm making soup today and enjoying my warm house. 

We might expect a high of -5 C today with snow flurries this afternoon and snow overnight. After Thursday, we begin another warming trend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.