The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Short cut

Another busy day today. Spent the morning trying to catch up with online lectures, as I'd signed up for so many things while self-isolating. I may have to let go of some of them now I'm working again. Listened to the last, sad, episode of the Fairy Meadow podcast on BBC Sounds.

I was invited to the childrens' Chinese new year celebration (lovely!) and went with them to the park afterwards. Then home, then, they had to get changed to go out, but one of them wanted to wear six layers! I got away a little early and went to the cinema to meet my friend and colleague J. We'd booked to see Belfast. The review I'd read had implied that it didn't feature The Troubles. Either it was that, or I had read the review of a completely different film. In any case, the Troubles featured strongly, but I enjoyed the music (lots of Van Morrison) and the humour and the coming-of-age story.

Something was going on in a back street when we came out of the cinema and wove our way back to the main streets.  An ambulance had been called. I recalled having seen the police and a few people there two hours earlier. I hope it's nothing serious, but fear it may have been.

We had a tea in the pub whilst waiting for J's bus. I walked her to her stop, then back home again. By this time I had been out for about eight hours and was completely done in. Fortunately tomorrow's short stint of overtime has been cancelled, so I only 'have to' meet D for the day in Cheltenham. If I am too tired, I'll postpone that too.

One thing I won't do tomorrow is go the cinema.Seeing Leopoldstadt and Belfast in the same week has filled me to the brim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.