The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

I finished the jigsaw!

This was a hard one. Irregular shaped pieces. I had this puzzle years ago, did it twice, gave it away. Recently re-found it on a cat charity stall, bought it again. Now I'll send it out again on the great Circuit of Life.

Work was busy. We talked a lot, ahead of next week's meeting. I thought it had been quite productive, and cleared the air. Was happy. Then a manager came in and said she'd sent me an email, I could reply on Monday if I preferred. I said I'd take a look straight away...

Oh no! It was another of those 'how long is a piece of string?' series of questions.

How long do you spend in contact time with the average client? Would you say 2-4 hours?
How long do you spend doing admin for that client? 2-4 hours?
How long does it take from receiving a referral ....?

One might as well ask,
How many times do you have to phone or email the District Council before an actual person answers?
How many times do you have to text a client with severe mental health issues before they are able to reply?
How long should you stay with a client at the community centre when they're crying, before you leave and go back to the office?

I ended up writing out an entire case study. Leaving out the boring, waste-of-time bits. Wish I didn't care so much about describing accurately what we actually do. BUT, the reason I can do my job well is because I am passionate. It has nothing to do with time-and-motion studies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.