The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Take heart!

For a while (about three weeks) I've been thinking I might have a have a heart problem. My surgery actually booked me in for an ECG, after speaking to me on the phone about some symptoms I'd been having. Eventually I had the blood tests, and the ECG, then the senior partner called me at 6pm that day and told me I had to go in to the surgery to see a doctor the very next day!

Naturally, I was terrified. But Dr P. put me at my ease and said that, although the ECG reading said that I might have had a heart attack at some unspecified time in the past, it wasn't recent, and the machine was just as likely to have got it wrong! Bizarre. Apparently this happens all the time.
My cholesterol is fine. My kidneys are fine. My bp is not making anyone squawk and flap like a chicken. My full blood count is fine. My blood sugar results are not back yet. Damn! They'll be the dodgy ones. Diabetes runs in our family (uncles having heart attacks runs in the family too, sometimes after a run...)

My friend J had an appointment too, and as our practices have merged into the brand new, corporate-looking surgery, we went for coffee afterwards. Actually I had oat milk hot chocolate, because I wasn't worried about my heart any more (I've been referred to the chest clinic instead). We sat and watched the world go by.. It felt SO good, and so naughty, not to be in the office, even though I'd booked time off in lieu. It's the little things that matter most to me.
And the BIG things like not having a dodgy heart or never being able to eat butter again.

(The red things in the photo are supposed to be a bit heart like. It was midnight when I was throwing the montage together).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.