Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Winners and Losers

The rivalry and jealousy between the shell ducks this afternoon got hideously violent. The winner got the girl in the end but it was surprising that the loser got away with his life! Try and look at this larger fight if you have time.

On my way out and passing by Swan Lake I spotted a few ducklings and stopped to take few few admiring shots. However what was going on there was a bit upsetting. The banks were crowded - ducks, a few swans, loads of jackdaws and rooks and then there were the tiny little ducklings. Woe betide any fluffy chick who left it's mother's side - the rooks would have them and one was taken right from under my nose before I even knew what was going on. The trouble was being small they seemed to get lost in the melee; the jackdaws were shooing them out of the way but the rooks were just waiting for their chance for a meal! ......... Winners and losers! Clapping my hands did a bit of good but not a huge amount.

From near the fence this mum and her brood were pottering - she, keeping a maternal eye on them. Kneeling, in what can only be described as a yoga posture with my lens sticking through a large hole in a small gateway I blithely took a few shots not quite appreciating what was on the other side from my position on the floor.

I never saw it coming..................Suddenly my camera whacked with force into my chin and exceedingly startled I looked over the top of the viewfinder straight into the beak of a huge massive swan! Oh he didn't like me there - he was making it quite plain. I retired a definite loser not wanting a second bout!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.