The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Breezy Birthday

In February 2021, England was in lockdown. I had a socially distanced walk with my one permitted companion, and we ate cake in a field. The weather was warm enough for t-shirts, and I enjoyed splashing around in the spray created by a waterfall. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2804471516333344110/edit

This year, we are back to plan A ( hand sanitising and mask wearing if one feels like it) and I hosted a  staggered meet-up at a cafe with indoor and outdoor space, for a few friends. I'd ordered a whole cake and was able to give out wrapped slices for taking away. This meeting extended over several hours and involved the reuniting of some people who hadn't seen each other for years. Eventually we got the out-of-town person safely on to her bus, and the hungover person went home, and the rest of us went for lunch in a cafe.

By the time we'd walked home, it was after 4, and I unpacked a pile of presents that had arrived while I was out. Among my treasures are: a handmade butterfly brooch, a ticket to see a comedian, and a 'reader's almanac' from my sister TML via Amazon. This gives suggested reading matter, illustrations  and book excerpts for each month. I'll never run out of ideas now!

Eventually I dragged myself upright again, and we set off to Cheltenham and the Everyman Theatre. GG had bought tickets for herself and me to see Private Lives by Noel Coward, starring Nigel Havers and Patricia Hodge. Unfortunately she is self isolating, pre-op, so she gave the ticket to CS, and we went together. Now that we've both had CoVid, recently, he's feeling easier about going out socially. It's been a long two years...

We both enjoyed the production, (the acting, and the scenery of Acts 2 and 3) as well as being back at the the theatre. This time we were in the Gods, with little leg room but a good view of the stage. Now I'm home again, on a stormy night, still texting and emailing friends to thank them for being part of such a sociable, varied day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.