The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The open door

GG and I went for a walk. She thinks it's ok to go for a walk outside while self isolating. I said I'd walk around with her, but not go anywhere in the car. Her operation is tomorrow, thank goodness.

We walked around Stroud cemetery and through little lanes, byways and woods, up to the former workhouse (the date 1899 is inscribed above a bay window) and back down through the cemetery. The sun finally came out about 3pm. We had distanced tea and birthday cake. She said she didn't give me a birthday card because I would have had to write it myself! We discussed going to Italy, or Belfast, at some point in the future. Reminds me of my brother's widely divergent career choices when he was about eight: become a monk or a Gordon Highlander! Methinks he has chosen a scholarly path, more akin to a monk's life than a soldier's.

I had a read in the cabin in the sunlight when G left, and now I've retired to bed with a mild headache and fatigue. Fewer than 6,000 steps today, so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.