The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

This way for the cold showers...

Today is my 57th birthday. I had wondered what it would be like in lockdown. February can be a bit dull, even without a pandemic.

I needn't have wondered, it is fabulous ! Loads of flowers, my hint-dropping really worked. I was spoiled with cards, and chocolates, and books, and bath flowers (perhaps I'll blip them one day) and calls, and texts.  The sun shone, too!

Friend Angela K was due to come for a walk at 10.30, so I didn't have time to make breakfast pancakes. However, she was out looking for her husband's shoulder bag, which he had lost overnight. An animal had been snuffling inside it... she turned up near 12 and we went up the Horns Valley, up the hill by the stables, through the beech woods, and up to the house called the Heavens, past the alpacas in their field, just  wandering, wandering, until eventually we hit Claypits lane and walked uphill to a field which gave onto another field with a stone wall and a view over the river Severn. We sat down in the sun and I peeled off  most of my top layers to show Angela my bruise (long story) and kept them off because it was warm enough to sunbathe! We even heard a skylark singing in the same field. All this in early February.

We returned via the lane, more  woods and this waterfall in the valley. I was trying to chuck a bit of water over myself without getting too wet. Think I succeeded. On the way back, we came to a very muddy patch and found a woman stuck, and sliding backwards. Her teenage son was with with her, sporting a camera, and not helping. Eventually I helped her out, but she did fall to her knees and have to crawl, though she kept pausing and sliding backwards in the tracks she had created. We both emerged somewhat muddier, but at least I remained upright.

Back home, we had socially distanced tea in the garden and marmite-encrusted cashews (really) and then friend and I distributed birthday cake to the people of Uplands, on the other side of town.

Later, I lounged around. There were more calls and  a socially distanced visit, in the front garden. Steve collected a takeaway meal, delicious, and with  enough food to spare for another snack tomorrow. I've been a bit overwhelmed by all the messages and presents and thoughtfulness. Thanks, everyone who made it all happen.

P  S. I see from my entry last year that it was also sunny on my birthday, and Clean Steve and I went up to Minchinhampton common to watch the skylarks! Maybe it's not so early after all.

This year, unlike then, we couldn't have had breakfast in a cafe with Pip and J, because: the cafes are closed, Pip has moved to Wales and may not be allowed back (!)  and J is poorly in bed. Thank goodness that breakfast is still permitted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.