Steve asked me to go down the pub - just as a friend let's be clear - and we had a great night. It was the pub local to me, literally just up the road, and although I've lived here nearly two years now I haven't been there... well it's not so easy for a woman to go to the pub by herself!

We found that there was a Peaky Blinders dress theme, so I felt a bit underdressed in jeans!! but it didn't last long. Steve's son arrived, I met him briefly in 2015, and both he and his dad put their names down for karaoke. Rather them than me!

It was a good night, with lots of good singers (as well as a few awful ones) and I enjoyed it. When I went to the bar a bloke asked me how I was enjoying myself... he recognised me from walking up the road! I also saw my neighbours from across the alleyway, so had a quick chat. 

It's been a while since I spent the night in a pub, some while BC before covid, and I'd forgotten how much fun it can be. Hopefully I'll do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.