Island in the Sound

Another day rather like yesterday; working on pictures this morning, but after lunch Mrs M suggested going out for a brief walk. We waited until the rain was off then set off along Duncraggan Road, a road that gives us views of the sea. I've always been fond of birches and this tree was catching the sunlight, so I put it on as an extra. 

We turned down at the end of the road and returned via Ardconnel Road, one stage lower down the hill, but still with a view of the sea. I took this picture out over the Sound of Kerrera just as the next shower was coming in. I've never known the name of this wooded islet and even the OS Landranger maps with a scale of 1.25" to the mile don't name it. I eventually found it by Googling - it's apparently good as a base for diving and is known as Heather Island. I'm surprised that it's not spelt in the Gaelic way as Eilean Fraoich, as there are many others of that name, notably one off the coast near Tayvallich.

We didn't get too wet and arrived home to put the kettle on and watch an amazing snow storm! Looking out over the hills it was quite dramatic, owing to a gusty wind, so for one moment there was absolutely nothing, then the wind changed and drove the snow towards us in a living cloud. I suppose I should have taken a vid - it was quite spectacular!

Now the sun is shining brightly from a clear blue sky! I was going to say 'Never a dull moment', but not to be taken literally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.