pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Sorry behind

Definitely not on good form. Sleep was sporadic and sweaty and I awoke to a head which had apparently been filled with concrete overnight.

This was evidenced by taking four attempts to get the daily Wordle - I’m usually there in three.

However, having been told to “man up” by one caring blipper, I promptly pulled the covers back over me and went back to sleep. The children will have to learn how to look after themselves one day, so they might as well start now.

I tried to give myself some impetus today and dragged my sorry behind into some less stretchy, slightly smarter trousers and we headed off to Grange over Sands.

Once more it was sunny as it always is there, but this time interspersed with a squally wind and cold, stinging rain. We played football for a little while and I was able to give the wee ones a laugh when my feet slid from under me as I attempted a sudden change of direction. Which I sort of achieved, but only by landing on said sorry behind as the ball gently bounced away.

With the rain getting harder, they were happy to call it a day there and accepted my offer/bribe of a Krispy Kreme doughnut by way of apology for being a crap dad this weekend.

I had forgotten how utterly draining it is trying to be a parent when you’re under the weather and once again doffed my imaginary cap to those full-time single parents. 

Still, it is always important to find time and stop and photograph the snowdrops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.