pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Demolition man

Today was one of those days when I was more than happy to hand beloved offspring back to their mother via the school drop-off.

Following a pretty dull weekend (my fault), they were climbing the walls and winding each other and me up, so I think the challenge and stimulation of school will have been a very good thing for them today.

On my return to the house I felt very queasy, unsteady and that I was about to keel over. I haven’t taken a sick day in almost three years, but I knew that I just didn’t have it today and so I’ve not moved from the sofa for most of it. As the day draws to a close, I am already feeling much better, so maybe some proper rest was what was needed. It has been a pretty full-on start to the year.

I finished up by wandering over to my home to take a look at the first day’s work. The weather had put paid to the massive velux window installation today, so the builder had begun by bringing in a staggering amount of timber as well as cutting a bigger hole in the ceiling and demolishing the wall we’d talked about. I’m really glad he’d suggested it as it should open out the first floor landing nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.