pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Pop of colour

I first heard the phrase “pop of colour” in one of my favourite comedies; Brooklyn-99.

Bad-ass detective; Rosa Diaz, surprises her colleagues when they discover that she has a vase full of lemons to add a “pop of colour” to her apartment, and the phrase has stayed with me ever since.

The window I have intermittently gazed out of between videocalls which I have grudgingly attended and contributed nothing, has contained a grim collection of various shades of grey, but not even the merest hint of one of the fun kinky kind. I think that’s why I took this photo of the only pop of colour available to me today, which I think is a windchime, but my mother has hung it indoors to catch the light – also, if it does start to chime it means that one of the children probably needs to apologise.

I’ve continued to feel awful, but have metaphorically limped through the day despite being told by colleagues to log off and lie down, which I will shortly do. I’m assuming that a parade and some form of medal won’t be too far behind.

Checked in at the house where the tops of some of the remaining walls have been lopped off and the first beam of the new floor has been driven into the wall, which is all they can for now as the inclement weather frustratingly continues to delay the installation of the velux. Regardless, progress is being made!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.