More Snowdrops

A warmer, part sunny morning was forecast, so I thought I'd take the opportunity to re-visit the snowdrops at Walsingham Abbey. I took my everyday lens and macro lens last time, so today I took a long lens - I like seeing the different effects you get. Today I concentrated on getting some snowdrops closer in focus, with an unfocussed snowdrop background. In my main photo you can see two different types of snowdrops in groups, in my extra I've got two or three in focus with a snowdrop background. I do enjoy the challenge, even if my arthritic hip doesn't! This afternoon as well as editing my photos, I cleaned an extremely filthy car and nice to see my washing had fully dried outside. 

Thank you so much for your hearts and kind comments on my 2,000th blip, I hope to respond to individual comments tonight or tomorrow. 

Day 694 / Day 13 Post Plan B (for my record only)
The delayed plan for clearing NHS backlogs was announced today, with £2bn (already announced) for elective recovery this year, and an extra £8bn over the next 3 years, plus another £6bn in capital spending. It will mean 9m extra checks, tests and procedures, and c30% more elective activity each year. We will have to wait until Mar 2025 before no one is waiting a year for elective care and to get back to 95% of people needing a diagnostic test receiving it within 6 weeks. The unknown factor is the estimated 10m who would normally can come forward requiring treatment, but didn’t during the pandemic. Whether they will come forward, when and how serious they will be is an unknown. I think those who have advocated more 'freedoms' should reflect on how much more damage has been done to 'normal' hospital care because of this. Sir Chris Whitty has told NHS staff that it's their 'professional responsibility' to get vaccinated. The ONS reports the first week on week fall in Covid on death certificates to 28th Jan in England and Wales, to 1,385. In the previous week, 63.2% of such deaths were in the over 80s. A quarter of UK employers say long Covid is a main cause of long term sickness absence in a survey by the CIPD. Spain has ended its mandate to wear a mask outdoors. Now some deer in the US have been found to be infected with Omicron, raising fears that new variants might evolve in them. Pfizer has doubled its annual sales and profits due to its Covid vaccine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.