A Fun Gift

I completed my latest jigsaw yesterday, a fun gift from a friend of mine, there was so much detail in it you don’t see at first glance. This afternoon I was getting a delivery of a large storage box for my garage - I’ve decided it’s easier to keep my xmas tree in the garage than lift it in 3 parts over my head and into the attic (which it was). So this morning I had a mini sort out to make some room, reduced the existing storage boxes in there and put the empty ones in the attic. I do need a really big sort out in the garage in Spring. 

This afternoon I also downloaded the 25 albums I bought through Amazon which had auto-rip and I’d yet to download to my laptop. One of the jobs I’m bad at keeping on top of. Normally I play music in the car and just put a cd on, but my new car doesn’t have a CD player, just Bluetooth and a USB connector. It does annoy me that new cars give you gadgets that few people want, but don’t give you things that a lot of people still expect. I’m feeling old now! 

Day 695 / Day 14 Post Plan B (for my record only)
The PM (in what I feel is another gamble and an attempt at misdirection away from his problems) announced he’s planning to remove all Covid restrictions a month early (so c 21st Feb), including the legal requirement to self isolate after testing positive. This coming the day after all the talk about the huge NHS waiting lists and how they are likely to grow considerably before reducing. Words fail me, particularly as someone whose been told they may have a severely compromised immune system. Indeed one charity, Myeloma UK, says this will cause ‘huge anxiety’ given that myeloma patients are more likely to contract Covid and significantly less likely to have a strong immune response to a vaccine, but there is no way to determine this for an individual. ITV’s Robert Peston is saying that ‘no-one in or around SAGE and NERVTAG is aware of any scientific advice given to the PM that the requirement to isolate for those infected with COVID-19 should be terminated from end of the month.’ Downing St later had to clarify that it’s not recommended anyone go to work when they have coronavirus. Perhaps they should tell their Minister for care and mental health who attended a meeting after a positive LFT. 

The ONS infection survey in private households to w/e 5/2 has shown rises in most of the UK, with estimates of people with the virus at 1 in 19 in England (up); 1 in 25 in Scotland (up); 1 in 25 in Wales (down); and 1 in 13 in NI (up). Spain’s requirement for over 12’s visiting to be double jabbed, has caused some Brits to re-arrange their holidays. The ONS is reporting the estimated levels of Covid antibodies in w/c 10th Jan are Eng - 98.1%; Wales - 97.7%; 98.7%% and Scotland- 98.3%. In Sweden from Wed, only healthcare and elderly care workers and the most vulnerable will be entitled to a free PCR test if symptomatic. Other people will be asked to stay at home if they have symptoms that could be Covid. The WHO says global cases dropped 17% over the last week. In a study, scientists concluded the origin of SARS-Cov-2 ‘can be unambiguously traced to horseshoe bats, genus Rhinolophus.’ Another ‘partygate’ photo involving Boris has been published - the Police are reviewing their decision not to include this particular event in their investigation. The BBC are reporting the accounts of the Captain Tom Foundation show it gave £160k to 4 charities, but spent c£210k on support costs in its first year including c£162k in management fees - the Charity Commission will review them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.