More Snowdrops

I went to a 1 hour talk today at the Library about the North Norfolk Railway. Unfortunately things didn’t go well. The speaker couldn’t get the presentation to start, it took 20 mins to sort that out. Then he’d used white text on a light blue background and we couldn’t read it. I was sitting near someone who spent 45 mins on their phone to their IT dept trying to sort out problems logging into her laptop which was disturbing the talk. For the last 15 mins a man came in the library and talked loudly on his mobile about a legal issue. Understandably the speaker had now lost all confidence and was taking very quietly and rushed through the talk, finishing ten mins early. What I did learn, however, was how phenomenally expensive it is to maintain the railway. Buying the Black Prince engine cost £350k with only 2 years left on its boiler certificate, that’s likely to cost another £350k+. The crossing points at Sheringham had to be re-done, costing £300k and the crossover rails at Weybourne are being re-done at the moment at another £300k. Without recent grants, relatively high ticket prices and the pool of 350 volunteers, it couldn’t survive. I walked back through the churchyard and took another snap of the beautiful snowdrops in the sunshine on my phone. 

I also sorted out a large set of drawers in my bedroom today. I’ve got a full bin bag of items to throw, everything’s now in nicely organised drawer storage units……..but I’ve got things that didn’t fit back in……..how did that happen???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.