Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Two standing men

I went to Newcastle today to meet Julie for lunch at The French Quarter.

My train was not cancelled, so I had a couple of hours free before lunch and I wandered around the area near the station.

First I went into the café of the Catholic Cathedral for a cuppa and a scone. It's always good in there and its spacious. I could not go into the cathedral because there as a Mass being celebrated. It was very well attended.

Outside the cathedral, immediately opposite the main entrance of the station, is the statue shown in my extra. I chose to use an 18mm lens today, which creates its own challenges with buildings. In both images, perspective corrections have been applied.

This statue was unveiled by Queen Elizabeth II in 2009. Hume was a Cardinal and was Archbishop of Westminster. He was highly regarded in the church and particularly in the north-east because he was a Newcastle lad.

The main image is one of three sculptures called Man with Potential Selves by Sean Henry. One is floating (on his elbow on a plinth), one is walking (from the Metro entrance) and this one is standing. 

The sky today was featureless so I tried adding a sky in Photoshop. I was pleased with the result.

Julie and I had lots to discuss. We are off to London later in the month and need to have a plan!!

If anyone can advise about current plays or exhibitions we should see, please let me know. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.