Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Rosy McEwen

This is a name to look out for. Rosy McEwen stars in Georgia Oakley’s film Blue Jean.

It premiered tonight in Hexham and the director, star and other actors were there. There was a pre show discussion which was neither use nor ornament! None of us had seen the film and the VIPs were seated in an unlit area.

Mutter mutter (because it was hard to hear without seeing them). The lady next to me had hearing aids and could not hear.

That aside, this film is well worth watching. It is set in 1988, when Jean is a PE teacher in a comprehensive school. She is out as a lesbian with her partner and in lesbian bars, but keeps her sexuality secret otherwise.

When Clause 28 rears its ugly head, her life is thrown into turmoil.

I would have loved the discussion to be afterwards.

In other news, I had an urgent message from Loganair today to say that Stornaway airport will be closed for three days in the week I return home. I have to stay on for two more days and had to find accommodation for that time.

I changed my flight quickly then set about finding somewhere to stay. What a faff! All we need now are storms to prevent the planes from flying……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.