Schubert Drive Lookout

Draped in cloud, city
views are limited in light
and colour today

~ carliewired

Looking out at fog/cloud over the valleys this morning did not motivate me to get out with my camera. I stalled until 10 AM hoping for some clearing, but it was coming very slowly. It was already 2 C and I had waited long enough. 

I drove to the Schubert Drive Lookout on the North Thompson River. The river is still locked in ice and snow. I couldn't see any birds on the river at all. It was a pleasant surprise to have two handsome mallards land in the parking lot beside me. Obviously, they had some expectations that they would be fed. 

I looked to the south and the downtown. Visibility was low. The sun was trying hard to break through. I looked across the river to my mountains that were barely visible. The ducks photobombed my shot as they walked along the bottom of the frame. I turned to the northeast to see the top of Strawberry Hill emerging from the cloud. Some blue sky was appearing. It could turn into a lovely afternoon. 

We have ice and muddy puddles to contend with now as the nights freeze and the days warm. My truck is a coated up to the door handles. 

I'm home by myself today. No plans to be productive at all. 

The forecast is for a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 6 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.