Tranquille and Above

We're back to grey and
a day without sunshine so
I'm just making do!

~ carliewired

I was on my way to the grocery store just before 7:30 this morning. It was just at 0 C but a grim, grey start to the day. No real light showing at sunrise with high cloud. 

I drove west to Tranquille looking for some photo inspiration. I stopped to look at the feed lot near the wetlands. The cattle were waiting patiently to be fed. No sign of a rancher at 8 AM. I noticed a collection of big birds in the same field as the cattle. I zoomed in on them to discover a collection of eagles and ravens that were very focused on something on the ground. I could see a hoof sticking up so I suspect it was a fallen steer. The birds were all lined up waiting their turn with the carcass. 

I drove on to the Red Lake Road that takes me up above Tranquille and Kamloops Lake. I stopped at the first landing to have a good look. There's patches of water sitting on the ice on the lake. They make interesting reflections. The Thompson River and the buildings of Tranquille all look wintery. The hillsides above the landing are mostly exposed now with the melt of the snow. The colour palette is mostly blue and brown with patches of white. 

I drove back down the gravel road to Tranquille to get my shot of my mountains across the wetlands. The road is very wash-boardy and I take it slow on the downhill run. My empty pickup likes to chatter over that road and I don't want to bounce off the road. 

I stopped for a quick haircut on the north shore before heading home. 

N is working on the bathrooms today. I have made a big pot of soup. 

Our forecast for today indicates a cloudy day with a high of 5 C and a chance of showers this afternoon. The skies should improve for the rest of the week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.