Sunshine!

Any day that starts
with sunshine is a very
good day in my book!

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck watching the light come up at 7:30 AM. I'd already finished my first coffee. It was - 1 C, calm and clearing. There was just enough cloud on the horizon to give a bit of colour.

I was off to McArthur Island at 8:30 AM. I was disappointed to find a group of lynx hunters already entrenched by the foot bridge so I drove past to the south side of the park. 

The sun was so welcome this morning. It cast those long winter shadows over everything and through the trees. I walked along the Rivers Trail heading west and looking for deer between the willows in the disc golf course. I found one far off and didn't want to pursue it. I took my one shot and was grateful for that.

I walked off the cleared path onto the snowy area. The path was rather icy in places this morning as yesterday's melt had refrozen in the low spots overnight. Suddenly, something flew out of the willows ahead of me. It took me a couple of seconds to determine that it was human-caused. A slender fellow emerged from the trees in pursuit of his frisbee. This lone disc golfer was there to practice his shots. I watched for a while and he suddenly flung his frisbee far off course and over to the river's edge. I thought he might have lost that one, but he sprinted over, retrieved it and stood to take a photo. I left him in peace at that point. 

I drove on to the parking lot near the boat ramp where I often encounter the 'parking lot ducks', those waiting for handouts. No ducks to be seen as I pulled in to park, but within a minute two landed near my truck followed shortly by a flock. All looked expectantly in my direction as I got out of the truck. I looked over the bottom of the boat launch where a small patch of open water held a little flock of mallards. I made it back to the truck unscathed and headed home. 

N is here today working on tile. My daughter is here working on a project. Lunch will be communal today.

We are to have a sunny day with a high of 7 C. We're in a warming trend this week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.