Clearing

We're about to have
a rather nice day if the
clouds lift off as planned

~ carliewired

I was out early to get some groceries, then drove to Riverside Park in the downtown. It was a calm -1 C as I walked through the playground by Heritage House. I found a rather bedraggled little snowman near the climbing apparatus. I walked around the construction zone to view the area of the pier, now closed to the public. Nothing much is happening with the remodeling but I can peek over the fencing to see the pier and my mountains. 

What started as a rather grey morning is improving. I can see Canada geese in the middle of the river on an ice shelf. It looks very odd to see them standing there, knowing it's the centre of the confluence. I walked back to my truck catching a squirrel rooting through last year's cones on the ground. I am surprised to see squirrels out so early in snow. They are making a lot of noise in the park.

I drove up the hill to the University parking lot on its north side. There are great views of the city to be had here. I thought I might catch a clearer look at my mountains but found I was looking down through cloud. 

I headed for home with my groceries. I am having my daughter over for dinner and its Greek tonight. 

We might expect a sunny afternoon with a high of 4 C. Snow will melt today and freeze again overnight. It is safer to have the snow go away slowly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.