70 F

I'll be sticking close
to the house today - feeling
a little fragile

~carliewired

I slept rather poorly so I had my morning coffee and put myself back to bed. When I awoke just before noon, I felt much better and the day was already sunny and bright. 

I have a very dear friend who is in a care facility in south Yorkshire. He suffered a stroke before his retirement in London. Luckily, his family in Yorkshire took it all in hand and moved him there where he could be close. He is not able to use his computer or other devices now and doesn't correspond, but he appreciates the messages I send him in the mail. So, I have this postcard I will send off to him and am thinking I should send him a few more while I'm here. 

"Ocean to Ocean Bridge, Yuma, Arizona
Arizona Representative Carl Hayden secured funding for this bridge in 
1913 after strong campaigning from Yuma citizens. At the time, it was the only highway bridge across the Colorado River for 1,200 miles. The bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979."

I poked my nose out the back door long enough to have a look at a couple of my palm trees. They aren't quite as shaggy as the neighbour's. I will get them trimmed again when I return in the fall. 

I can see a neighbour's flag flying in the wind. At night that flag would fly in a spotlight. (I think that's required.) I haven't looked outside in the dark to see that yet. 

I have another basket block ready to sew and one in pieces on the cutting table. I am setting no speed records for this project!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.