The Wait For Sunshine

I waited for the 
cloud to lift - the sunshine and
blue sky were worth it! 

~ carliewired

It was another morning of overhanging cloud with a promise of sun to come. I dillydallied for what seemed like forever. I left the house just after 11. It was 3 C and looking rather dazzling outside. It must have something to do with the sun coming through the thinning cloud. The light becomes shimmery and it's difficult to see. 

I needed to make a brief stop at the office. I was glad I did because our little band of deer showed up in the yard. There were two bucks and one doe browsing around our planters and wandering under our big pines. The one buck missing his left antler was most prominent. The doe was interested in what the planter had left from last year. 

I drove off to Riverside Park. I was pleased to see some action in the park renovation today. A very long transport had arrived with big cement blocks the shape of lego pieces. It was ushered into the work zone to unload. Several men in high viz vests were milling about. I still don't understand why this area was blocked off to the public in late November but work didn't progress. I would like to have had access through the winter. 

My mountains looked glorious this morning. Snow has mostly cleared from their southern exposures. Birds were largely absent. I counted nine Trumpeter swans at the confluence. Across the river there was a noisy murder of crows that had taken over the treetops there. No eagles or Canada geese to be found, but one persistent pair of mallards plied the river. 

I picked up a cappuccino on the way home. I have a zoom meeting mid afternoon. It's a shame to waste this beautiful day inside. It has the feel of spring and snow is melting fast. 

I finally got a response with an estimate (and an apology) from the flooring company that was here on the 2nd. 

We can expect a high of 7 C with a mix of sun and cloud and a chance of showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.