No ferry

To Liverpool. The train journey was ok, better than I expected and the first time for I'd done the West Coast line in daylight. I'd been up early to 'pack' and make a couple of phone calls before returning the car but best laid plans and all that - T and J arrrived as I was about to leave so it was discussions about where to put the whirlie etc, etc.

The one 'blip' on the road to Liverpool was an enforced 30 minute wait on a freezing cold platform at Wigan. The connecting Northern Line train to Liverpool left 10 seconds after the slightly late running Virgin train from Edinburgh arrived. Integration! But it meant that that was where I heard about Margaret Thatcher's death. She united Scotland and probably led to where wwe are today.

Good catch up with K and then a late walk down to the abert dock to catch the sun before it disappeared behind the clouds. It was freezing. The wind off the mersey was no warmer than the wind keening up the Forth. An uninspiring meal and then back to the hotel to find limited internet access meant I fell aslep watching the extended 10 o'clock news. Maggie, Maggie, Maggie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.