Ready for new crops.

Blowing a hooley today.  I wasn't going for a twenty minute walk for sure. Put out bird food expecting nobody to turn up but the blackbirds were there in a flash.  Kept having to go out as I could hear noises that suggested my plastics bin was in trouble and it was. Luckily the contents were still inside but it took three tries and two bricks before I got it to stay put.   It was cold too, the street was icy and the top of the hill was white.  Settled to breakfast late then Carol the Postie arrived with a cut finger. One of those tiny finger cuts that bleed like nothing on earth.  Sorted her out with elastoplast and was told to watch out for a rather strange bloke who was roaming around the street.  Being me I was so engrossed in reading the news, Wordle and crosswords that I never set eyes on him.  Discovered the birds were at the feeder even though it was birling furiously in the wind.  I'm  amazed at how they manage to hang on.  Although the wind hadn't died down much I set Roomba going and took myself off to Heatherhall woods for a twenty minute walk after all.  It was quite sheltered there, with a fair number of dog walkers.  I went up a little bridle path beside Rossie Drain where they don't go. Took some photos then stopped close by the Eden on the way home to photograph trees and a field, ploughed ready for  spring planting. Can't say I've done much today other than exercises and replanting a little hellebore that got dislodged yesterday but it's been very pleasant in spite of the wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.